In 2019, the glittering MINERALIS show will open its doors at the Berlin exhibition grounds under the Radio Tower for the 45th time. As every year, the wonders of nature will fascinate visitors with their colours, forms and structures.

This year too, dealers and collectors will show their “treasures” from around the world and the newest finds at the Mineralis. Both the raw materials and the polished stones come directly from mines in Pakistan (aquamarine), India (ruby, sapphire), Australia (opal).

2019’s trendy colours are reflected in the yellow-orange tones of amber: amber has long been considered a healing and magical stone that is said to draw harmful substances out of the body. For that reason, it was often worn as jewellery around one’s neck. Amber becomes particularly interesting when it encloses animals and plants.

The best known of the fossils are the diverse ammonites, which are offered in great variety from 1 cm to 0.50 m in length. Other attractive fossils are fish from Brazil or the USA, as well as petrified woods from America.

 

A hobby turned into a profession


Our holiday luggage has always included a rock pick and a chisel. Be it quartz, calcite or mineral ore, the Pfundt family began collecting minerals more than 50 years ago. There were deposits in Germany on slag heaps and in surface mines in the Harz region, in the Bavarian Fichtelgebirge, in the Black Forest, in the Hunsrück region. But other destinations like the islands of Elba, Sardinia and Corsica also provided natural treasures of stone. Amethyst, rock crystal, agate and rose quartz – our collection grew such that we almost had a little “mine”. Besides our own collecting activity, we also started attending mineral shows outside of Berlin.

The idea to set up such a sales exhibition / trade fair in Berlin was put into operation in 1975; what was then the Congress Hall in Berlin-Tiergarten was rented. After its collapse in 1980, the Berlin Minerals, Fossils and Jewellery Show switched to the exhibition halls under the Berlin Radio Tower. The exhibition is organised by Doris Pfundt with the support of all her family members.

THis Months Zodiac Stone: 23.10. - 22.11. Scorpio - Carnelian

 The Egyptians carried carnelian with them wherever they went as the gemstone of regeneration and devotion. The pharaohs at that time attributed to carnelian divine strength, with which they liked to adorn themselves. With its reddish colours, it became the symbol of the returning sun for the Greeks.

Zum 45. Mal öffnet 2019 die Glitzerschau MINERALIS ihre Pforten auf dem Messegelände Berlin unter dem Funkturm. Wie jedes Jahr faszinieren die Wunder der Natur die Besucher mit ihren Farben, Formen und Strukturen. 

Händler und Sammler zeigen auch in diesem Jahr ihre weltweiten „Schätze“ und die neuesten Funde auf der Mineralis. Dabei sind sowohl das Rohmaterial sowie geschliffene Steine direkt aus den Minen in Pakistan (Aquamarin), Indien (Rubin, Saphir), Australien (Opal).

Die Trendfarben für 2019 spiegeln sich in den Gelborangetönen des Bernstein wider: Der Bernstein galt schon früher als Heil- und Zauberstein, der schädliche Stoffe aus dem Körper ziehen sollte. Er wurde daher oft als Schmuck um den Hals getragen. Besonders interessant gestaltet sich der Bernstein, wenn er tierische und pflanzliche Einschlüsse hat.

Am bekanntesten unter den Fossilien sind die verschiedenartigen Ammoniten, die in großer Vielfalt von 1 cm bis 0,50 m angeboten werden. Weitere atraktive Versteinerungen sind Fische aus Brasilien oder USA aber auch fossile Hölzer aus Amerika.

 

Vom Hobby zur Profession

Im Urlaubsgepäck befanden sich stets Geologenhammer und Meißel. Ob Quarz, Calcit oder Erz, vor über 50 Jahren begann die Familie Pfundt, Mineralien zu sammeln. Fundstellen innerhalb Deutschlands auf Halden oder in Tagebauen gab es u. a. im Harz, im Fichtelgebirge, im Schwarzwald, im Hunsrück. Aber auch weitere Ziele wie die Insel Elba, Sardinien oder Korsika boten steinerne Schätze der Natur. Amethyst, Bergkristall, Achat oder Rosenquarz, die Sammlung wuchs, so dass fast ein kleines "Bergwerk" entstand. Neben der eigenen Sammeltätigkeit wurden auch auswärtige Mineralienbörsen besucht.

Die Idee, in Berlin eine derartige Verkaufsausstellung / Messe zu installieren, wurde 1975 in die Tat umgesetzt und die damalige Kongreßhalle im Berliner Tiergarten gemietet. Nach deren Einsturz  im Jahr 1980 wechselte man mit der Berliner Mineralien-, Fossilien- und Schmuck-Börse in die Messehallen unter dem Funkturm. Die Ausstellung wird von Doris Pfundt mit Unterstützung aller Familienmitglieder organisiert.

23.9. - 22.10. Waage - Citrin

Der Citrin soll einen freien Kopf machen und davor bewahren, sich unbedenklich in Abenteuer zu stürzen. Verpflichtungen, Geschäfte und sogar Liebesbeziehungen werden durch ihn besonders geschützt. Er soll Ausdauer geben und Herzensheiterkeit und Ansehen verschaffen.